News Feed | RSS News feed

Armagh Senior League A 2020
St Patrick's14100420
Armagh Harps1490518
Pearse Og1470714
Wolfe Tones1421115

As at 10/20/2016 2:52:41 AM
Detailed Table & All Results

U21s Progress

05 May 2009

Maghery Under 21 team took on Cullaville last Wednesday night in the championship. The Mac Dermotts settled into the game well and worked their way through the opening half holding the upper hand. Excellent defensive play in the Maghery back lines, especially by Tony McCrory, Kevin Nugent and Darragh McConville, saw the loughsiders restrict their opponents to 3 points over the course of the first 30 minutes. Maghery’s midfield pairing of Ronan Lappin and Stephen Fox performed more than effectively and kept their forward line, where Stefan Forker and Shea Tennyson stood out, well supplied.


It was the south Armagh outfit who started the second half proceedings the best, hitting 2 points and reducing their deficit to 3. But soon Maghery’s Shea Tennyson had further strengthened the Sean Mac Dermott’s grasp on the game with a goal resulting from a penalty. Maghery were wasteful on a few occasions after this and when they lost possession in their own forward line Cullaville punished in the turn-over, hitting a well taken goal and so there were 3 in it again. With the pressure on, the Maghery boys dug deep and started to pull it together once more. Stefan Forker came out to midfield to win ball with Lappin, and up front it was Shea Tennyson’s night as he accounted for another goal and 2 more points to seal a Maghery win and send the Mac Dermotts through to the next round of the competition on a comfortable winning score line of  MAGHERY  2 – 10   CULLAVILLE  1 – 05.

Maghery scorers:  Shea Tennyson 2 – 05, Stefan Forker 0 – 03, Kevin Nugent 0 – 01, Stephen Fox 0 – 01.

UNDER 21 CHAMPIONSHIP FIXTURE: Maghery Under 21s are now away to Carrickcruppin in the next round of the championship on Wednesday night. This is sure to be a tightly contested game against a Cruppin side who are aiming for 3-in-a-row in this competition.


© 1997 - 2012 Maghery GFC. All rights reserved.
Site design by www.kevincorr.com