News Feed | RSS News feed

Armagh Senior League A 2020
St Patrick's14100420
Armagh Harps1490518
Pearse Og1470714
Wolfe Tones1421115

As at 10/20/2016 2:52:41 AM
Detailed Table & All Results

Maghery B Team are the Champions!

13 September 2007

Sunday evening past, around 7.30pm, at Abbey Park, was a happy place to be if you hailed from the Maghery Sean Mac Dermotts club. For it was then that Eamon Moore lifted aloft the All County B Championship title, after his team fought hard right to the final whistle, to hold off determined opposition in the form of St Pats, Dorsey.

The Mac Dermotts got off to a dream start when they found themselves 1-02 to 0-00 up with only 5 minutes gone in the game. For the first point, hard work from Kevin Nugent, Michael Robinson and Joseph Mc Keever out-field, set young and skilful Shea Tennyson up for an excellent point from play. A minute later, and his uncle, Jim Robinson, scored a raiding point after being put through by his cousin Gareth Fox. Robinson was involved in the goal too, when his free-in which seemed to be heading wide was kept in play and the opportune Shea Tennyson hit the ball on the rebound, finding the back of the Cullyhanna net.

Over the next 8 minutes, both sides fluffed good scoring chances, with Oisin Lappin and Tony Mc Corry showing well for Maghery. St Pats then set their scoring machine in motion at the end of the first quarter, scoring a goal and 2 points inside 3 minutes, and all of the sudden the teams were level.

But not for long. The 18th minute saw Shea Tennyson step forward to effortlessly drift over a free and restore the loughshore lead; 1-03 to 1-02. Stephen Fox extended Maghery's advantage to 2 points when he scored an excellent point from an awkward angle while under severe pressure from a strong Dorsey defence. With 2 minutes remaining in this first half, St Pats pulled back with a point, before ‘Jimbo' Robinson countered it with a magnificent score from play, and Maghery led by 2 again. Half time was now looming, and Dorsey converted a free, before both teams retired to the changing rooms for the interval.

HALF TIME SCORE: Maghery 1-05 Dorsey 1-04

It was the Cullyhanna outfit who opened the scoring in the second half, sending over 2 frees to put them into the lead for the first and last time, hence only time, in the game. In between these 2 scores, they were unlucky when a powerful shot hit the crossbar, as Maghery breathed a sigh of relief that there was no damage done. The Mac Dermotts got off to a shaky start after the interim, and it took over 10 minutes for them to register their first score of the half. And when it came, it came from the reliable boot of none other than an on-form Shea Tennyson, who finished the championship final with a personal tally of 1-03.

The Mac Dermotts had pulled level on the scoreboard, and now began to edge ahead in key positions around the field. Captain Eamon Moore and veterans Don Laverty and Dermy Forker dug deep and were well supported by lively performers Darragh Mc Conville, Kevin Nugent and Oisin Lappin. But the main player for Maghery at this crucial stage was Jim Robinson, as he fielded brilliantly around the middle of the park, feedind young players such as Stephen Fox, who added another great point to Maghery's tally, and Michael Robinson, whose point gave the north Armagh boys a 2 point lead (1-08 to 1-06 ) heading into the final quarter.

With 8 minutes remaining on the clock, it was fitting that Jimbo recorded Maghery's last score of the game, as a 14-man Dorsey battled hard to infiltrate a sound Maghery defence. St Pats did manage 2 more points, leaving the minimum in it, and had a few chances to equalise in the dying minutes. But Maghery held their nerve and emerged deserving winners of the Armagh All-County B Championship 2007.

FINAL SCORE; Maghery 1-09 Dorsey 1-08

Well Done to everyone involved! This historic victory for our club is the culmination of every player and mentors hard work and commitment, in training sessions, league matches and of course this championship campaign.

The Maghery panel is as follows:
Stephen Tennyson, Oisin Lappin, Don Laverty, Darragh Mc Conville, Dermot Forker, G Fox, Kevin Nugent, Anthony Nugent, L Fox, Darren Fox, Jim Robinson, Michael Robinson, Shea Tennyson, Joseph Convie, Stephen Fox, Joseph McKeever, Aidan Convie, Barry Mc Andrews, Shane Hoey, Dixie Robinson, Lappin
Management: Eamon Robinson, Liam Fox, Dermot Forker, Don Laverty.


© 1997 - 2012 Maghery GFC. All rights reserved.
Site design by www.kevincorr.com