News Feed | RSS News feed

Armagh Senior League A 2020
St Patrick's14100420
Armagh Harps1490518
Pearse Og1470714
Wolfe Tones1421115

As at 10/20/2016 2:52:41 AM
Detailed Table & All Results

North Armagh 'B' Champions 1999

01 August 1999

Maghery Deserving Winners

Maghery 3-8 Clann Eireann 2-7
North Armagh 'B' League holders Clann Eireann failed to complete the double when they lost to Maghery at Derrymacash last Thursday night (26 August 1999).

With the loughshore men playing out of their skins Clanns were no match, but almost stole the match when they went in front by a point with seven minutes left to play. Maghery sensed the danger though and had no intentions of losing out and a great fighting finish saw them adding a goal and a point to their total to lift the title.

It was no more than the Maghery side deserved, as they were the better team on the night. Granted Clanns have played better during the season but the truth of the matter was that they were well below the standard of Maghery and could have no qualms about the final outcome.

Maghery settled well from the throw in, Seamus Forker giving them the lead with a point in the 2nd minute, but after an exchange of wides, Ciaran McEvoy, Clanns best player on the night, levelled the scores with a point in the 7th minute.

Maghery collected from the kick out and worked the ball into Paul Higgins who sent in a thunderous shot that grazed the crossbar, edging Maghery in front again. They increased their lead when Joe Hendron connected on the fly blasting the ball to the net, but Clanns hung on desperately with Ciaran McEvoy firing over a point only to see it negated by a similar score from Gerard Campbell.

Daniel Shanks hit a beautiful long-range point on the turn and once again Maghery showed they could respond when necessary when Seamus Forker fired over from long range. An exchange of points by Brain McCabe and Joe Hendron left the half time score at Maghery 1-5, Clann Eireann 0-4.

Clanns put up a much better show in the second half opening with a Kevin Creery point immediately after the restart, but Maghery always had that little bit extra and increased their score even more when James Fox, who gave them the edge at midfield, blasted home their second goal on the 35th minute.

Maghery goalkeeper Tony Fox denied Ciaran McEvoy a goal with a brilliant save but two minutes later he was helpless top stop the same player blasting the ball past him to the net. Clann Eireann had still all to play for and upped their game. Although suffering a temporary halt from a Seamus Forker point, they played some of their best football of the night. Ciaran McEvoy and Liam Robinson reduced the deficit with points and even when they were reduced to fourteen men when Stephen Kerr was sent off for an off the ball tackle, they still had the resolve to fight back and were rewarded with a Ciaran McEvoy goal in the 50th minute.

So despite having played the better football and enjoying a good amount of possession, Maghery found themselves adrift by a single point. With darkness quickly falling, Maghery had to do it all over again and did so in brilliant fashion. Shane Moore levelled the scores with a brilliant long-range point and in the final minute of the game Seamus Forker blasted in a goal and Liam Fox provided the insurance point seconds before the final whistle.


Maghery: Tony Fox, Neil Fox, Stephen McConville, Stephen Cusack, Dermot Fox, Gerard Campbell(0-1), Pearse McKeever, Aidan Cusack, James Fox(1-0), Geordie Corr, Liam Fox (0-1), Shane Moore (0-1), Joe Hendron (1-1), Paul Higgins (0-1), Seamus Forker (1-3)

Clann Eireann: Paul Cassidy, Ciaran Mitchell, Gary Lavery, Kevin Leathem, Stephen Kerr, Stephen McAreavy, Cormac McGleenon, Ciaran McEvoy (2-3), Daniel Shanks (0-1), Brian McCabe (0-1), Kevin Creery (0-1), Liam Robinson (0-1), Tony Gallery, Francie Tallon, Michael McNeice


© 1997 - 2012 Maghery GFC. All rights reserved.
Site design by www.kevincorr.com