News Feed | RSS News feed

Armagh Senior League A 2020
St Patrick's14100420
Armagh Harps1490518
Pearse Og1470714
Wolfe Tones1421115

As at 10/20/2016 2:52:41 AM
Detailed Table & All Results

Maghery progress to Pat McMahon Cup Final

13 September 2005

Maghery convincingly defeated Annaghmore in the semi-final of the Pat McMahon Cup last Friday evening in Felix Hamil Park. Stefan Forker opened the scoring for the home side with back to back points, cousin Conor adding a third before Annaghmore registered their first from a free.

A Stephen Cusack free found James Lavery who passed the ball to Niall Forker who put three between the sides again. Cusack and Lavery were instrumental in the next score, winning a free which Eamon Cusack converted with ease. Annaghmore kept themselves within reach soon after when a Shane Symth free found the top of the Maghery net. Maghery’s answer came son after when Seamus Forker’s shot dropped over the keepers’ head into the net.

Maghery defended well against Annaghmore attacks and further scores from Eamon Cusack & Conor Forker opened a six-point lead for the Loughshore men. Annaghmore got a second goal from a penalty and Maghery responded with a great score from Seamus Forker. The home side kept up the pressure and a move starting from a foul on Antony Nugent and involving James Lavery, Joe Fox and Seamus Forker ended with an excellent finish from Paul Forker to register Maghery’s second goal of the match. Half time score Maghery 2:08, Annaghmore 2:01.

Two goals in the second half for Annaghmore mid way through the second half brought them to four points of Maghery but with James Lavery and Joe Fox making some great catches in midfield; the defence working tirelessly to break down further Annaghmore attacks and Eamon Cusack, Seamus Forker, Stefan Forker all in fine scoring form, Maghery never really seemed like letting this match slip away from them. Final score Maghery 2:16, Annaghmore 4:05.

Congratulations to the boys on a great team performance. Maghery now face Clan na Gael in the final of the Pat McMahon Cup. Details of the final will follow in the next few weeks.


© 1997 - 2012 Maghery GFC. All rights reserved.
Site design by www.kevincorr.com